TIS Press Release in January 2020

Telematics

Great common denominator

Bericht_Boll

Bocholt, January 25, 2020

Digitization: Boll Logistik controls the mobile order management in local and long-distance traffic as well as in warehouse handling with the TISLOG solution and saves several interfaces.

As few interfaces as possible: When digitizing your own processes, this request is usually the top priority. This also applies to the multimodal logistics service provider Boll Logistik, which is involved in local and long-distance transport, among other things. Due to the different requirements, the dispatchers work here with two separate transport management systems. While CALtms is used in local transport, long-distance tours have been organized by Soloplan with CarLo since July 2019. To optimize inventory turnover, Boll also uses the CargoVIS video surveillance solution from DIVIS.

.

The various installations are connected by the TISLOG telematics system from TIS, which has been supporting mobile order management as well as fleet and damage management since 2011. The decisive factor at that time was the decision of the general cargo network Unitrans to use TISLOG as a data hub for all partner forwarding agencies. The main partner of the cooperation is DHL Freight, which makes it one of the largest users and reference customers of TISLOG. "As a founding member of Unitrans (see below), we spoke in favor of TIS at the time, because in addition to the actual solution, we were also impressed by the provider with its medium-sized structures and short decision-making processes," recalls the managing partner Ulrich Boll.

Half-hour briefing

 

When the 100 mobile scanners used in local transport had to be replaced with new models in 2019, the choice fell again on TIS. "The TISLOG mobile Enterprise software now runs on the new Zebra TC75x Android scanners," reports Thomas Schwarz from Boll IT Service. The operation of the new devices is based on conventional smartphones, which minimized the training required for the 130 local drivers. "For some drivers, half an hour of instruction was enough," recalls Schwarz, who has established four key users at Boll as the first point of contact for technical questions of the drivers.
Boll replaced the Windows CE-based predecessor software PSV3 and the now eight-year-old handhelds of the Zebra MC95 type. The change was made noticeably easier by well-thought-out project management and the TISLOG MDM mobile device management offered by TIS. The solution enables the efficient and centralized management of all mobile telematics devices used and is an integral part of the TISLOG software family. "The personal support from TIS and our contact person Mike Ahlmann was excellent at all times," emphasizes Schwarz.

Three photos per damage


During the morning loading, the drivers work on the digital loading lists, which are sent directly from CALtms to the handhelds. An emulation solution installed on the devices ensures that the data is readable even without CAL software. Only after the planned shipments have actually been loaded onto the trucks in question are the data transferred to TISLOG mobile in order to generate the delivery run sheet. "In this way, we can also redistribute consignments during loading if, for example, they no longer fit on the originally intended truck," explains Schwarz.
Regardless of this, the driver can also start the TISLOG intra application at any time during loading, for example to document a damage on a shipment. The software specifies that three photos are taken of each damage. In addition to the actual damage, the shipping label and the entire shipment must be photographed. The photos assigned to the shipment number are then automatically archived and sent to the claims department.

Guided safely

"The procedure was quickly accepted by our drivers, because the simple process means that they can be relieved immediately if damage occurs," reports Schwarz. One of the special features of the damage app is the interface to the video surveillance solution from DIVIS: Each driver handheld was equipped with an RFID tag that activates the camera assigned to the corresponding hall section when scanning or taking pictures. This means that it can be quickly verified afterwards whether the damage has occurred at the Boll facility or has already occurred at the shipping agent's location.
Fortunately, while the damage app only rarely needs to be activated, the other functions always take action: As soon as the delivery run sheets have been transferred to the handhelds, TISLOG mobile guides the driver safely through the process. The software installed on the handhelds shows the driver every single step from pallet handling to the customer's signature. The same applies to pick-up orders arriving during the day. When assigning them to the appropriate driver, dispatchers benefit from the GPS location function integrated in the handhelds, which makes every truck visible on a digital map on the monitor. "Without using the phone, dispatchers immediately know which driver is the best choice for the pickup in question," emphasizes Schwarz.

Accelerated responses

If it is determined on site that the pickup is three instead of the two notified pallets, the driver can use his handheld to make the changes himself and transfer the new data to the control center. The actual data for further dispatching of the shipment is available there immediately. The GPS locating has the further effect that customer inquiries about certain consignments can be answered quickly without asking the driver.
TISLOG mobile has also been used in long-distance transport since July 2019. Boll had recently introduced the CarLo transport management system, to which there is also a proven interface. Instead of handhelds, the drivers were equipped with tablets on which the current tour data can be called up. They also serve as a message center and navigation system.

Reliably supplied

The fleet solution is supplemented by the TISPLUS telematicbox Truck installed in the trucks. Depending on requirements, the box provides comprehensive telematics data for dispatching and fleet management. The robust hardware is equipped with a powerful GPS receiver and its own SIM card. At Boll, the box is connected to the truck's CAN bus and digital tachograph via an FMS interface. "This means that our dispatchers are reliably provided with the current driving, working and rest times," reports Schwarz. The processing and analysis of the speedometer data is carried out permanently via the TISLOG office portal. The data from the scanners also flow in here and are automatically transferred from there to the forwarding software CAL or CarLo.
Conclusion: With TISLOG, Boll has a flexible telematics solution that can be integrated as a common denominator in the areas of local and long-distance transport as well as video-based damage management.

Background: Unitrans

Unitrans Deutschland Gesellschaft für Terminverkehre mbH was founded in 1989 as a cooperation between medium-sized family businesses and one of the world's largest logistics groups, DHL Freight, and focuses on both the national and international general cargo area. Georg Boll GmbH & Co., based in Meppen, is one of the founding members of this network, which comprises a total of six shareholders and 35 franchisees. With more than 35 locations in Germany and numerous cooperation partnerships in other European countries, Unitrans has been offering a comprehensive transport service for three decades.

Background: Boll Logistik

Boll Logistik, registered as Georg Boll GmbH & Co. KG, is a multimodal logistics service provider based in Meppen and two other locations in Herzlake and Schüttorf. As a partner of various cooperations such as Unitrans and Elvis, the Emsland-based company has access to international logistics networks and offers solutions for all types of shipments, from parcels to overseas containers.
Boll employs 500 people who, with around 650 customers, generate annual sales of around EUR 40 million. In addition to warehouse management, the most important pillars include local and long-distance transport, for which the company operates its own fleet of 150 trucks. There are also around 50 vehicles from subcontractors. Boll Logistik thus transports an average of 3,000 consignments per day, or 450,000 tons per year.
The history of the owner-managed family company dates back to 1863. More information at www.boll-spedition.de.

© Please respect the copyright of TIS GmbH
The image and text material is only released for editorial use. If you wish to use our material otherwise, please must contact us first.

Downloads for this press release

Press release

Press release as a Word file

Size

637.46 KB

File Type

Download

DE EN

Images Print

Images for the press release in printable resolution

Size

65.27 MB

File Type

Download

DE EN

Images Web

Image material for the press release in screen resolution

Size

610.46 KB

File Type

Download

DE EN

Your Press Contact
Markus Vinke
& Peter Int-Veen

+49 2871 2722-0

EVENTS

Meet TIS live
at trade shows
and other industry events

© Please respect the copyright of TIS GmbH
The image and text material is only released for editorial use. If you wish to use our material otherwise, please contact us first.

Background TIS GmbH

teaser-unternehmenTIS is one of the market leaders for high-end telematics projects with more than 150 corporate customers and 50,000 drivers as users in daily use. We have been developing intelligent telematics solutions for freight forwarders, transport and logistics companies as well as retail chains for almost 35 years. With TIS solutions, our customers control their entire truck fleet and order management and monitor their entire flow of goods in real time - from the depot to the smallest branch.

Latest Press Releases

TIS Press Release February 2020

12 February 2020

KP-Logistik invests in TIS telematics solution

With the telematics solution from TIS, KP-Logistik can also continuously monitor the consumption of its LNG fleet.

READ MORE ...

TIS Press Release January 2020

20 January 2020

LogiMAT: TIS customers create their own configurations

TIS presents the unique Live Configurator and newly developed fixtures for forklifts and scan handles.

READ MORE ...

TIS Press Release June 2019

13 June 2019

TIS with a new shareholder

Telematics provider remains family-owned – company founder and former sole owner Josef Bielefeld transfers shares to son Fabian Bielefeld

READ MORE ...

TIS Press Release in May 2019

21 May 2019

TIS: Peter Giesekus is retiring

Farewell to November 30th – The telematics veteran has been active since 2008 for the Bocholt-based family business

READ MORE ...

TIS Press Release May 2019

15 May 2019

TIS makes supply chains transparent

New module for online collection of pick-up orders – Trade show offer for customers – legally secure archiving of tachograph data – exclusive insights into the inventory portal

READ MORE ...

Zum Inhalt springen

TIS Pressemitteilung im Januar 2020

Telematik

Großer Gemeinsamer Nenner

Spedition Heinrich Boll | TISLOG Kunde

Bocholt, 25. Januar 2020

Digitalisierung: Boll Logistik steuert das mobile Auftragsmanagement im Nah- und Fernverkehr sowie im Lagerumschlag mit der Lösung TISLOG und erspart sich damit mehrere Schnittstellen.

Möglichst wenige Schnittstellen: Beim Digitalisieren der eigenen Prozesse steht dieser Wunsch meist an vorderster Stelle. Das gilt auch für den multimodalen Logistikdienstleister Boll Logistik, der sich unter anderem im Nah- und Fernverkehr engagiert. Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Anforderungen arbeiten die Disponenten hier jedoch mit zwei getrennten Transportmanagementsystemen. Während im Nahverkehr CALtms zum Einsatz kommt, werden die Fernverkehrs-Touren seit Juli 2019 mit CarLo von Soloplan organisiert. Zum Optimieren des Lagerumschlags setzt Boll außerdem auf die Videoüberwachungs-Lösung CargoVIS von DIVIS.

Verbunden werden die unterschiedlichen Installationen durch das Telematik-System TISLOG von TIS, dass bei Boll seit 2011 das mobile Auftragsmanagement sowie das Fuhrpark- und Schadensmanagement unterstützt. Den Ausschlag gab die damalige Entscheidung des Stückgutnetzwerks Unitrans, TISLOG als Datendrehscheibe bei allen Partnerspeditionen einzusetzen. Hauptgesellschafter der Kooperation ist DHL Freight, die damit zu den größten Anwendern und Referenzkunden von TISLOG zählt. „Als Gründungsmitglied von Unitrans (s. unten) hatten wir uns damals für TIS ausgesprochen, da uns neben der eigentlichen Lösung auch der Anbieter mit seinen mittelständischen Strukturen und kurzen Entscheidungswegen überzeugte“, erinnert sich der geschäftsführender Gesellschafter Ulrich Boll.

Halbstündige Einweisung

Als 2019 die 100 im Nahverkehr eingesetzten mobilen Scanner gegen neue Modelle ausgetauscht werden mussten, fiel die Wahl erneut auf TIS. „Auf den neuen Android-Scannern vom Typ Zebra TC75x läuft jetzt die Software TISLOG mobile Enterprise“, berichtet Thomas Schwarz vom Boll IT-Service. Die Bedienung der neuen Geräte orientiert sich an herkömmlichen Smartphones, wodurch der Schulungsaufwand für die 130 Nahverkehrsfahrer minimiert werden konnte. „Bei manchen Fahrern genügte eine halbstündige Einweisung“, erinnert sich Schwarz, der bei Boll vier so genannte Key-User als erste Anlaufstelle für technische Fragen der Fahrer etabliert hat.
Abgelöst wurde bei Boll die auf Windows CE basierende Vorgänger-Software PSV3 sowie die mittlerweile acht Jahre alten Handhelds vom Typ Zebra MC95. Der Wechsel wurde durch ein durchdachtes Projektmanagement sowie das von TIS angebotene Mobile Device Management TISLOG MDM spürbar vereinfacht. Die Lösung ermöglicht das effiziente und zentralisierte Verwalten aller eingesetzten mobilen Telematikgeräte und ist ein integrierter Bestandteil der TISLOG Softwarefamilie. „Aber auch die persönliche Unterstützung durch TIS und unseren Ansprechpartner Mike Ahlmann war zu jeder Zeit hervorragend“, betont Schwarz.

Drei Fotos pro Schaden

Während der morgendlichen Beladung arbeiten die Fahrer anhand der digitalen Ladelisten, die direkt aus CALtms an die Handhelds gesendet werden. Eine auf den Geräten installierte Emulations-Lösung sorgt hierbei auch ohne CAL-Software für eine lesbare Darstellung der Daten. Erst nachdem die geplanten Sendungen tatsächlich auf die betreffenden LKWs verladen wurden, werden die Daten an TISLOG mobile übergeben, um die Rollkarte zu generieren. „So können wir auch noch während der Beladung Sendungen umverteilen, wenn diese zum Beispiel nicht mehr auf den ursprünglich vorgesehenen LKW passen“, erklärt Schwarz.
Unabhängig davon kann der Fahrer auch während der Beladung jederzeit die Anwendung TISLOG intra starten, um zum Beispiel eine beschädigte Sendung zu dokumentieren. Die Software gibt vor, dass von jedem Schaden drei Fotos erstellt werden. Neben der eigentlichen Beschädigung muss dabei das Versandlabel und die gesamte Sendung abgelichtet werden. Anschließend werden die der Sendungsnummer zugeordneten Fotos automatisch archiviert und an die Schadensabteilung versendet.

Sicher geführt

„Das Verfahren wurde von unseren Fahrern schnell akzeptiert, denn durch den einfachen Prozess können sie sich bei auftretenden Schäden sofort entlasten“, berichtet Schwarz. Zu den Besonderheiten der Schadens-App zählt die Schnittstelle zur Videoüberwachungs-Lösung von DIVIS: Jedes Fahrer-Handheld wurde dafür mit einem RFID-Tag ausgestattet, der beim Scannen oder Fotografieren die dem entsprechenden Hallenabschnitt zugeordnete Kamera aktiviert. Somit kann auch im Nachhinein schnell nachgewiesen werden, ob der Schaden am eigenen Standort oder bereits beim Versandspediteur entstanden ist.
Während die Schadens-App zum Glück nur selten aktiviert werden muss, treten die übrigen Funktionen permanent in Aktion: Sobald die Rollkarten an die Handhelds übertragen wurde, werden die Fahrer durch TISLOG mobile sicher durch den Prozess geleitet. Die auf den Handhelds installierte Software zeigt den Fahrern jeden einzelnen Schritt vom Palettenhandling bis hin zur Unterschrift des Kunden. Gleiches gilt für die tagsüber hereinkommenden Abholaufträge. Bei deren Zuordnung zum jeweils passenden Fahrer profitieren die Disponenten von der in den Handhelds integrierten GPS Ortungsfunktion, die jeden LKW auf einer digitalen Landkarte am Monitor sichtbar macht. „Ohne telefonisches Nachfragen ist den Disponenten sofort klar, für welchen Fahrer die betreffende Abholung in Frage kommt,“ betont Schwarz.

Beschleunigte Antworten

Wird vor Ort festgestellt, dass es sich bei der Abholung um drei statt der avisierten zwei Paletten handelt, kann der Fahrer die Änderungen an seinem Handheld selbst einpflegen und die neuen Daten an die Zentrale übertragen. Dort liegen die Ist-Daten für die weitere Disposition der Sendung ohne Zeitverzögerung vor. Die GPS Ortung hat den weiteren Effekt, dass Kundenanfragen nach dem Verbleib bestimmter Sendungen rasch ohne Rückfragen beim Fahrer beantwortet werden können.
Seit Juli 2019 wird TISLOG mobile auch im Fernverkehr eingesetzt. Kurz zuvor hatte Boll das Transportmanagementsystem CarLo eingeführt, zu dem ebenfalls eine bewährte Schnittstelle besteht. Anstelle von Handhelds wurden die Fahrer hier mit Tablets ausgestattet, auf denen die aktuellen Tourdaten abrufbar sind. Außerdem dienen sie als Nachrichtenzentrale und Navigationssystem.

Zuverlässig versorgt

Ergänzt wird die Fuhrparklösung durch die in den Lkw verbauten Telematikboxen vom Typ TruckBox Premium. Sie liefern je nach Bedarf umfassende Telematikdaten für Disposition und Fuhrparkmanagement. Die robuste Hardware ist mit einem leistungsstarken GPS Empfänger und einer eigenen SIM-Karte ausgestattet. Bei Boll ist die Box per FMS Schnittstelle an den CAN-Bus des Lkw und an den digitalen Tachographen angeschlossen. "Damit werden unsere Disponenten zuverlässig mit den aktuellen Lenk-, Arbeits- und Ruhezeiten versorgt", berichtet Schwarz. Die Verarbeitung und Analyse der Tachodaten läuft dabei permanent über das Portal TISLOG office. Hier fließen auch die Daten aus den Scannern ein, die von dort automatisch an die Speditionssoftware CAL beziehungsweise CarLo übertragen werden.
Fazit: Mit TISLOG verfügt Boll über eine flexible Telematiklösung, die sich als gemeinsamer Nenner in die Bereiche Nah- und Fernverkehr sowie das videogestützte Schadensmanagement integrieren lässt.

Hintergrund: Unitrans

Die Unitrans Deutschland Gesellschaft für Terminverkehre mbH wurde im Jahr 1989 als Kooperation mittelständischer Familienunternehmen mit einem der weltweit größten Logistikkonzerne, der DHL Freight ins Leben gerufen und fokussiert sich sowohl auf den nationalen als auch auf den internationalen Stückgutbereich. Die Georg Boll GmbH & Co. mit Sitz in Meppen ist eines der Gründungsmitglieder dieses Netzwerkes, das insgesamt sechs Gesellschafter und 35 Franchisenehmer umfasst. Mit mehr als 35 Standorten in Deutschland und zahlreichen Kooperationspartnerschaften im europäischen Ausland bietet Unitrans seit nunmehr drei Jahrzehnten einen flächendeckenden Transportservice.

Hintergrund: Boll Logistik

Boll Logistik, eingetragen als Georg Boll GmbH & Co. KG, ist ein multimodaler Logistikdienstleister mit Sitz in Meppen und zwei weiteren Standorten in Herzlake und Schüttorf. Als Partner verschiedener Kooperationen wie Unitrans und Elvis verfügt das Emsländer Unternehmen über den Zugang zu internationalen Logistiknetzwerken und bietet Lösungen für sämtliche Sendungsarten vom Päckchen bis zum Überseecontainer.
Boll beschäftigt 500 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, die mit etwa 650 Kunden einen Jahresumsatz von rund 40 Mio. Euro erwirtschaften. Zu den wichtigsten Säulen zählen neben dem Warehousemanagement der Nah- und Fernverkehr, für den das Unternehmen einen eigenen Fuhrpark mit 150 LKW betreibt. Hinzu kommen rund 50 Fahrzeuge von Subunternehmern. Damit befördert Boll Logistik durchschnittlich 3.000 Sendungen pro Tag, beziehungsweise 450.000 Tonnen pro Jahr.
Die Geschichte des inhabergeführten Familienunternehmens geht bis auf das Jahr 1863 zurück. Weitere Infos unter www.boll-spedition.de.

© Bitte beachten Sie das Copyright der TIS GmbH
Das Bild- und Textmaterial ist nur für die redaktionelle Nutzung freigegeben. Falls Sie unser Material anderweitig nutzen möchten, setzen Sie sich bitte vorher mit uns in Verbindung.

Downloads zu dieser Pressemitteilung

Pressemitteilung

Pressemitteilung als Word-Datei

Größe

637.46 KB

File Type

Download

DE EN

Bildmaterial Print

Bildmaterial zur Pressemitteilung in druckbarer Auflösung

Größe

65.27 MB

File Type

Download

DE EN

Bildmaterial Web

Bildmaterial zur Pressemitteilung in Screen-Auflösung

Größe

610.46 KB

File Type

Download

DE EN

© Bitte beachten Sie das Copyright der TIS GmbH
Das Bild- und Textmaterial ist nur für die redaktionelle Nutzung freigegeben. Falls Sie unser Material anderweitig nutzen möchten, setzen Sie sich bitte vorher mit uns in Verbindung.

Hintergrund TIS-GmbH

teaser-unternehmenTIS ist einer der Marktführer für anspruchsvolle Telematik-Projekte mit mehr als 150 Unternehmenskunden und 50.000 Fahrern als Anwender im täglichen Einsatz. Seit fast 35 Jahren entwickeln wir intelligente Telematik-Lösungen für Speditionen, Transport- und Logistikunternehmen sowie Handelsketten. Unsere Kunden steuern mit TIS-Lösungen ihre komplette LKW-Flotte sowie ihr Auftragsmanagement und überwachen in Echtzeit ihren gesamten Warenfluss – vom Depot bis in die kleinste Filiale.

Letzte Pressemitteilungen

TIS Pressemitteilung September 2020

31 August 2020

Leopold Schäfer GmbH sattelt um auf TIS

CargoLine-Gesellschafter führt TISLOG zunächst im Nahverkehr ein. Der Fernverkehr soll folgen. Die bisherigen Scanner werden nach Bedarf Schritt für Schritt ersetzt.

WEITERLESEN ...

TIS Pressemitteilung Juli 2020

06 Juli 2020

Telematik: Martin Baur GmbH wechselt zu TIS

Die zum Stückgutnetzwerk CTL gehörende Martin Baur GmbH will ihre Prozesse im Nah- und Fernverkehr sowie im Lagerumschlag mit der Telematiklösung TISLOG von TIS vereinfachen

WEITERLESEN ...

TIS Pressemitteilung Juli 2020

02 Juli 2020

E-Learning: TIS: Kostenloses Fachwissen durch Online-Seminare

TIS GmbH hat ihr Angebot an kostenlosen Telematik Online-Seminaren für Interessenten und Kunden aus den Bereichen Fuhrpark, Spedition und Logistik ausgebaut.

WEITERLESEN ...

TIS Pressemitteilung Mai 2020

06 Mai 2020

Telematik: Kochtrans wechselt zu TIS

Die zum Stückgutnetzwerk CargoLine gehörende Kochtrans Patrick G. Koch GmbH investiert in eine neue Transportmanagement- und Telematiklösung von TIS

WEITERLESEN ...

TIS Pressemitteilung Februar 2020

12 Februar 2020

KP-Logistik investiert in Telematik von TIS

Mit der Telematiklösung von TIS kann KP-Logistik unter anderem auch den Verbrauch seiner LNG-Flotte lückenlos überwachen.

WEITERLESEN ...